[KCET] The Century-Long History of Philippe’s and Its Famous French Dip Sandwich

2 Likes

The fouth 'graph debates who was first, which Thrillist seems to have pegged 7 months back:

tl;dr an account from a 1915 interview w/ Phillipe Mathieu (Phillipe’s founder) seems to point pretty strongly to him as the original, but the first one was pork, not beef.

1 Like

As far as I’m concerned I’m only interested in one controversy: How is Phillipe’s pronounced?

FILL-EYE-PEES

1 Like

Lies.

2 Likes

In the event you’re actually asking, I would guess it’s "fih-LEEP’, since he was french and all…

You are not from here, perhaps?

I was alluding to this:

As to who is the first? It matters not because Phillipe’s is superior!

1 Like

Whoa. I’ve been pronouncing it wrong for like 15 yrs! ::sigh::

There is no wrong. Only do. Or do not.

Or something like that.

2 Likes

Hi @paranoidgarliclover,

Well, I don’t know if anyone’s to blame. Philippe’s is running commercials right now, and their paid commercials pronounce the name as “Phil-LEEPS”. :unamused: Uh… So either they have ZERO quality control, or their Marketing department doesn’t care, or their name can be pronounced however people want, LOL. :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Well, I was but I’m in Canada now… I was in LA for 5 years and never heard ‘phill-ee-pees’ ever. I’d hear ‘fey-LEE-pays’ from people who natively spoke spanish or Italian. And if that’s how the owner pronounces it, it’s his, he can call it what he wants.

But I still liked Cole’s better. Best one’s still Rutherford Grill up in Napa, though.

Yes, Rutherford Grill is better, but it’s triple the price and made with prime rib.

Thanks again @Chowseeker1999 for your French Dip comparisons. Need to add my post and pic from Uva Bar.

1 Like

I’m just giving you the business. :slight_smile: